Intersections and Poetry = the Story

11357062_10153381443726763_6607735889789143138_o

As part of my daily practice, I write something everyday.  Today this came tumbling tumbling out:

The Bungalow

Her:  Mom, I need a word that starts with B.

Mom:  Baracuda? Bob? Bacon? Begun?

Her: Bravado?  Bliss?  Barrage?  Bare?

Mom: (I wonder, how long until she shies away from gentle tap lipped B because one day someone will inevitably call her that word and she won’t have floor to ceiling windows, perfect roof, or palm trees to reshape her focus)  Beam? Board? Build? Bungalow?

Her: I like that one … -alow low low …sounds like a song.

After reading it over a few times, I realized that I’ve been pondering my intersections for quite some time.  Not only that, I realize that I work to teach my students how to identify the places  where their identities intersect and write from that place, thereby making space for their individual narratives.  This is an act of revolution.

“and when we speak we are afraid
our words will not be heard
nor welcomed
but when we are silent
we are still afraid
So it is better to speak
remembering
we were never meant to survive”- Audre Lorde

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
